Facebook: All Your Stuff is Ours, Even if You Quit

Messages
160
Name
Mark Wright
Edit My Images
Yes
For those that upload their photos to Facebook

http://mashable.com/2009/02/16/facebook-tos-privacy/

The possible implications of this TOS change go beyond these concerns. Sure, you can choose not to use Facebook at all, but that doesn’t mean a thing. Someone can still take your photo, slap it on Facebook, and now neither you nor the author of the photo can stop Facebook from using the photo in whichever way they please.
Looking at it globally, millions of people are uploading bits of information on everyone and everything, to a huge online database, and by doing so they’re automatically giving away the rights to use or modify this information to a private corporation. And not only that; they now also waiver the right to ever take it back from it.
Facebook should take a long, deep look into how it treats its users. Until now, users had options with regards to how the data they generated on Facebook was used. Now, they have no options whatsoever, rather than quit the service altogether. It’s a major difference; I’m not going to take it lightly, and neither should you.

When will they learn??
 
If you do not like it. Dont use it. It's the only way you can get them to change.
 
just don't put anything too important on it - i use it for catching up with friends and snapshots only. ..no problems
 
It's the same old story, the facebook T&C's state that your content can be used on the site and for promotion of the site. The change now is that even if you close your account those terms will continue.

The terms aren't a rights grab, they are specifically limited. I think their being able to use content uploaded by the users for promotional stuff is a pretty fair exchange for everything they are providing the user free of charge.
 
They do also need the right to reproduce your work otherwise uploading it would automatically make them commit breach of copyright (or whatever law it is) by broadcasting it to your friends.

As photos are automatically broadcast, you must give them permission to do this...and that explains (or at least part explains) the reason for them including such rights in their TOC. Why they need it after you quit I don't know...but as has been said, why you would be putting saleable images on a social networking site I don't know!
 
If you do not like it. Dont use it. It's the only way you can get them to change.

Did you even read the quote in the first post?

Someone can still take your photo, slap it on Facebook, and now neither you nor the author of the photo can stop Facebook from using the photo in whichever way they please.
 
Did you even read the quote in the first post?

How does the change in the T&C affect someone stealing an image and posting it fb? If you find an image is being used on fb without consent you report it and they remove it under their abuse policy. If fb were then to use it themselves after removing it for breach of copyright they'd a) be pretty stupid and b) could expect an invoice ;)
 
Well that all depends on whether or not you can prove to be the copyright owner.
 
Well that applies for any image you create so nothing to do with Facebook then.

I'm not arguing that it is... in fact, if you read my posts I've not stated an opinion yet.

:thumbsdown:
 
I've removed all of my photos and my profile picture has been replaced with this ...

3285517133_eaeef62a56_o.gif
 
So do you expect fb to search their backups and remove copies of any image you delete from there too? I expect that it the main reason the T&C were updated but hey, let's all get super paranoid and break out the tin foil hats.
 
What I really want to know if why anyone thinks fb would want the pictures in the first place based on the blurry camera phone dross my friends put on there :lol:
 
So do you expect fb to search their backups and remove copies of any image you delete from there too? I expect that it the main reason the T&C were updated but hey, let's all get super paranoid and break out the tin foil hats.

Backups are exactly that, for use in emergency situations. I seriously doubt they'd trawl their backups for images to use.

It's not a lot to expect that when you delete an image from your account that it should be deleted from the service that hosted it.

But I don't know how Facebook works. It'll be interesting to see more info on this though before putting forward my informed opinion :razz:
 
What I really want to know if why anyone thinks fb would want the pictures in the first place based on the blurry camera phone dross my friends put on there :lol:

Well if you will insist on taking pictures of yourself in compromising positions when you're drunk and sending them to everyone in your address book ... ;)
 
As has already been pointed out, their Ts and Cs are there just to save them the almighty headache of deleting every photo you've ever posted there when you quit.
 
Besides...when was the last time you saw a Facebook advert in any media? Or the last time they had a random photo on their website..outside user areas?
 
Probably a stupid question. Do the new terms apply for photos uploaded before the change aswell? I mean, when I uploaded photos a few months ago, for example, I was uploading them under the previous terms and conditions. So, it was under a different 'contract' that those photos were uploaded and it would be a breach of that contract if they included them on the new one without my consent, wouldn't it?:thinking:
 
Surely this is just an arse covering excersise by facebook?

I mean i aint a clue how the the place works but under the old terms and
conditions if anyone deleted their account and removed their 'copyrighted'
images then facebook would have to back the site up from that point.....

Wouldn't that be a logistical nightmare ? ... :shrug:
 
So, it was under a different 'contract' that those photos were uploaded and it would be a breach of that contract if they included them on the new one without my consent, wouldn't it?:thinking:

I think you'll find that your logging in is an acceptance of the TOC, you were no doubt required to log in again (although your machine may have automatically done this) after the change was made.

It will cover all images on your account at the time of your acceptance and subsequently. Therefore it would only pose a problem to facebook if you declined the conditions and cancelled the account.

As a matter of academic interest though it would be impossible for you to cancel the account by any normal means without logging in and therefore you'd be accepting the conditions anyway :thinking:

Ooh, thinking about this is fun :lol: So you'd need to write to them to cancel (which they may not have to accept). This is clearly some kind of conspiracy by Facebook to carry out some form of rights grab and obtain sole ownership (within the confines of Facebook or for the purpose of promoting Facebook) of all those pictures I took of the top of my head whilst running, gah! :lol:
 
Surely this is just an arse covering excersise by facebook?

Exactly :thumbs:

I mean i aint a clue how the the place works but under the old terms and
conditions if anyone deleteted their account and removed their 'copyrighted'
images then facebook would have to back the site up from that point.....

They wouldn't "have to" do anything, but if they did back something up and put some of your deleted images back by accident, you couldn't sue them for it. Golly, might that be the entire point?? :thinking::lol:
 
i really couldnt care less what facebook do with my stuff, I have friends all over the globe and it lets me keep in touch with them and let them know how im doing and vice versa.

:D
 
It's all moot now, fb seems to have vanished :lol:

very odd, it's working except if you're using Chrome :thinking:
 
Back
Top