Film making, where to begin?

Name
Mike
Edit My Images
No
Afternoon all,

I've been a hobbyist photographer for ages and have had a video itch for a long portion of that. An upcoming road trip to Scotland makes me think that now is the time to scratch it.

I've got a Canon R5, with various lenses (mostly EF), and a couple of Insta360 One RSs as well as a Zoom H1n, a Rode external mic, and some suction cup type mounting brackets--I imagine I won't be using the R5 for sticking on the car or anything. So I think that the gear side is covered.

But. I have little to no idea on film making.

I understand that the premise is to tell a story, so I intend to start with a few short scenes on planning and packing, then a montage/time lapse of the trip up to our start point in Loch Lomond, and then a few scenes for each of the 4 or 5 days.

I figure I've got a couple of months to play with the gear and figure out the best positions for camera angles and sound recording, but it's the actual 'art' of the storytelling that I reckon will be the hardest to grasp.

Does anyone have any tips or advice on how I might approach this? I'm accepting it's going to be a learning experience, but hopefully it'll be fun!
biggrin

I'm not much of a video fan, however I do know what I don't like (fast jerky panning, stupid music instead of the sound from the scene, using 150 of the available 100 transitions and effects, fake sounding narratives etc etc) so my suggestion would be to look at some videos and note the things you don't like, then avoid them.

Probably not the kind of advice you were looking for :)

Last edited:
issues you might come across is using a camera for videoing it might overheat as it doesn't have a cooling fan. Another is the length of recording time you need to check for your camera. next is zooming in smoothly, normally means changing lenses.