First attempt at DSLR video with 600D + Zoom H1

Edit My Images
Yes
Hi all,

Purchased a Canon 600D with Tamron 17-50 f2.8 plus a Zoom H1 for audio. Also used a £50 rig from Amazon in an attempt to keep the camera more steady and have magic lantern installed too.

This is my first attempt at putting a video together in Sony Vegas Pro 11.

[YOUTUBE]0LAPnEUONII[/YOUTUBE]

Please let me know what you think and what I could do to improve my technique. Thanks!

Last edited:
+1.. it's a bit shakey on the staic shots.

Is the sound level spiking on the engine pops? - I'm only listening on laptop speakers but the audio sounds a little cut-off at the pops.

How are you getting on with the H1? I've been thinking about getting one to put with a HX9V.

I really can't get excited about a car playing ping-pong in a tunnel though.. at least not unless it's a Triumph with a straight-six up-front! :cool:

+1.. it's a bit shakey on the staic shots.

Is the sound level spiking on the engine pops? - I'm only listening on laptop speakers but the audio sounds a little cut-off at the pops.

How are you getting on with the H1? I've been thinking about getting one to put with a HX9V.

I really can't get excited about a car playing ping-pong in a tunnel though.. at least not unless it's a Triumph with a straight-six up-front! :cool:

It goes up to 0db but I didnt see it clipping when I was editing the shots together. I was using auto-levels on the H1 for this video, not quite worked out the best way to set the levels manually yet? Any tips?

I like the H1, its a bit of a pain merging the audio with the video afterwards but I guess its worth it for the quality.

No problem on not getting excited, different things do it for different people. Totally understand how this is not some peoples thing, but for me I love it :D

Thank you for the feedback