First DSLR - Question& Ideas

Name
Leah
Edit My Images
Yes
I am so sorry to make another thread, and I hope it isn't a problem. Today I have been given some fantastic advice regarding a first DSLR for a total beginner looking to get into photography with the view of becoming a professional.

I have had a few awesome suggestions, given my budget is around £250.

The following have been suggested (second hand):

Sony alpha 58 + kit lens
Canon 40D - with Canon 18-55 IS, Canon 55-250 IS, Canon 50 f/1.8 II
Nikon D300 + a 18-55mm vr lens
Nikon D90 + 18-55 VR lens
Nikon D200 + Nikon 50mm f1.8 lens

They all look great and I am already looking at second hand ones.

My question was, however, that I didn't focus so much in my original post in my second threat, is that the main focus I want to really use my camera for, and eventually do professionally all going well, is newborn and birth photography. Obviously in the mean time I would focus on perhaps pet photography, and people, in order to really get an idea of photographing subjects, rather that nature etc. Would these camera's be suitable for this purpose specifically?

They'll all up to the job mate . I'd suggest canon as lenses second hand are easier to come by . But just pick the one you like the best . You'd be better off with a prime for portrait photography . Mind the nifty fifty which you mention is great in good natural light but not so good in low light - hunts for focus lock and a bit noisy . The 1.4 much nicer but bit more pricey (and you need to look after it)