First nature shots of squirrel

Name
Ross
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi folks.

First off, I'm more or less a complete beginner at photography. But have now bought a body and 2 lenses (one still in the post) and also have access to my girlfriends lenses.

Today was my first venture outside to practice. Took around 130 shots and I think this was the best of the lot.

Any constructive criticism would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Taken on a Nikon D90 with a manual Tokina 28mm. ISO@200 F2.8

First outing.jpg

… would this stimulate an idea Ross? ;)

First%20outing.jpg

which program did you use.

UK made Affinity Photo… I discovered it
when I stopped using any Adobe products.

I use it when I need, like here, a pixel editor,
IMO, the perfect replacement and very powerful.

Squirrels are great subjects and can easily pose for a few nuts. I'm impressed you got it so large in the frame with only a 28mm lens!

The only advice I can say is getting to the animals eye level makes for an interesting image. There is of course room for environmental images in a portfolio of images but eye level with good eye contact between you and the animal makes a big impact and entices the viewer to look in more detail. For some animals getting eye level isn't a problem, for the smaller animals it often means crawling in mud. It's worth it when you get a great image. Keep on practicing and I'm sure you will enjoy it more and more.

There is the saying about 'getting it right in camera', although this isn't entirely true I would say don't think about removing a fence from in front of an animal in post processing to save an image. When you are taking the image think about the backgrounds and environment. A few steps to the left or right can often improve the background and remove distracting elements and saves needing to remove it in post.

Last edited: