Beginner first pic post

Edit My Images
Yes
hi all, this is my first post on this site...

im a total newbie to this and just starting out on my path into photography hence why this was taken on my smart phone, just about to begin the daunting task of deciding what route camera wise to take. Any critism welcome but don't be to harsh will me :)
Bunch of rooms by Lee Hayes, on Flickr

Looks fair dinkum Lee, No crit I am afraid but some camera phones are extremely capable these days and in many ways more versatile than a lot of cameras with waterproofing and video capture. I love my Samsung S5 for just those reasons :)

a big welcome to you lee..

you have a good eye...physically and your shot is making use of a diagonal...up is happy down is sad...so they say
yours is sad...relatively most everything else is ok..

now you have to get a piece of equipment to help you make the best of it..
i get by with 4/3 micro dslr and you will see or get all sorts of suggestions based on what the chaps here actually own themselves
a camera which isnt too heavy to carry and being 2017 one with a good sensor which will give detail in shadows..on iso's up to at least 800
more costs more...

the camera will probably come with a kit lens and if you cant get good results with one of those...you are not trying hard enough and using the lenses attributes
post processing is where most of us live...the world of phantasy and cheating...where shots become unique and personal
consider some way forward with a freebie download of how to correct your shots...if they need it
i first used PhotoFiltre...and still do for quicky adjustments...my other stuff is off ebay and sufficient for my needs
time magazine have rejected all my proposals but the chaps here on TP are decent and will do the same with less agression..and a few likes

no crit on the shot...really its too early for us to wade in with all sorts of telling you what your shot needs to be to satisfy our jealousy..:D