First Proper Play with my Tamron 90mm Macro - Some flowers

Name
Rob
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi all,

Below are a couple of shots using my new Tamron 90mm Macro. I am new to macro stuff so it will be interesting to see what feedback I get.

Hope you like,

Cheers

Rob

1)
3642129266_04f926d7d2.jpg

2)
3641315195_16ca205579.jpg

Last edited:
I like both of these very much. I have been looking at getting a macro lens how does the Tamron feel so far?

Andy

Cheers mate, glad you like them.
I absolutely love the lens mate, it's a dream. It's my first fast prime and it's great for potraits as well as macro work.

Cheers mate, glad you like them.
I absolutely love the lens mate, it's a dream. It's my first fast prime and it's great for potraits as well as macro work.

Had my Tammy 90 just over a week and totally agree :love::love:

Anyone else with any thoughts on the shots?

Help and tips greatly appreciated!

Nice shots, I really like the first with with the depth of field. You've got enough in sharp focus for it to look good. I find a lot of macro shots people dont stop down enough and you end up with a very small amount in focus and the rest very blurred. I think I would of tried to rotate the camera around a bit more so the stem went into the bottom right corner, this would also of put the lines on the opposite side into the corner although thats more a personal preferance really.

The second shot is really sharp although it seems a bit overexposed to me and the general subject isnt as asthetic as the first.

Thanks for your thoughts there. I have to say, I prefer the first.

I wonder if a tighter crop on the flower might help the 2nd one, and your right, it is looking a tad over exposed.

I think maybe a square crop then raise the levels greypoint to darken the mid tones which should help bring out a lot more colour too.