First speedlight shots.

A very nice start!

Things you could try to mix things up.. these are by no means essential, just ideas:
  1. Bring the brolly round to the front a bit; frontal light is more flattering to older skin
  2. Add a reflector below to fill some of the shadows on the neck
  3. Add some fill light
  4. This applies to the second more than the first - try feathering the light a little. It looks as though the central hotspot of the umbrella is aimed directly at the forehead. Try aiming it down a little to give slightly more even coverage.

Thanks for the comments and advice. I certainly agree about the forehead hotspot. I don't possess a reflector at the moment but will acquire one soon. I am also a portrait painter and so as a consequence I tend to prefer some good light AND shade to describe form and provide more interest. Many times with clients I have been given perfectly good photos that work in terms of photography but make poor sources for paintings. I am aware that I could fall into the same situation with my photos in reverse so will certainly experiment with the position and quality of the light.

Whilst Simon has a point, it's all about intent.

I would assume that the setting above was aimed at flattering the subject, in which case Simon is spot on, clamshell lighting is going to be the most flattering starting point, followed by some subtle PP. (just to add - get the light in close)

However if your aim was to show 'character' then a harder angled light source will really bring out the lines and wrinkles.

There's no difference between lighting for painting or photography, except painters are less likely to default to flattery.

Surely as a painter you don't need to buy a reflector, you should have large sheets of white paper, card or canvas knocking about?

Last edited: