Flash advice needed for a wedding shoot

:) The comments about how they don't care about the photographs are pretty amusing if that was the case surely there would be no photographs taken at all.

2 - Set expectations, in writing (a friendly email would suffice). something along the lines of ' Hi mate, It would be a pleasure to shoot your wedding. I am no pro and you have seen and understand my skill level, and I would recommend you seek a pro however, if you need to me to take images if your day I will do. Please don't expect miracles however I will do my best. Happy to take a few formals and maybe some of the ceremony. Lets gave a chat about what can be done. Looking forward to being at your wedding, kind regards blah blah' If, worst case scenario, it all goes t)ts up it is clear to all parties.

I would be wary of setting any expectations. However, what you suggest seems a reasonable statement of intent.

Steve.

:) The comments about how they don't care about the photographs are pretty amusing if that was the case surely there would be no photographs taken at all.
For some photos are as important as napkins - great if they're there, but hardly a crime if not. If you don't believe that it's fine, but it is true.

Lots of good stuff there from Greg (apart from the bit about being a guest too:):))

I think it's important in these types of threads to take notice of the title. The OP asked for advice on using flash, not to decide if he should do the wedding or not!

Steve.

Hi all,

I enjoy my photography, and have built up something of a reputation in my social circles for it, to the point that a friend has just asked me to cover her wedding.

Happily, I'm to be a jumped-up guest - I'll have sway as the 'Official Photographer' and license to take the first shots and order people about and stuff, but thankfully I've, er ... 'suggested' ... that I do more candid work as opposed to formal - thus I will be mainly using my 50mm, and thought perhaps my 75-300mm zoom.