Flash and Epilepsy?

Edit My Images
Yes
Looking for some advice.

Was shooting this evening using a speedlight and apparently I set of someone's epilepsy sat across a (very large) square.

As soon as we were made aware we stopped and moved away but I wondered if anyone had experienced this before? I wasn't even aware it was possible but thinking about it, I was in HSS mode which I guess could in theory set someone off?

I've tried googling but not really come back with an answer. Obviously want to do whatever I can to avoid a similar issue in the future.

Cheers

I should qualify this by saying I'm not a doctor. But it seems very unlikely that you, on your own at a distance set off someone's photosensitive epilepsy. You normally need somewhere around 20 flashes a second to trigger it so a group of photographers and I guess its possible, but just one. Not so much.

I would guess that there was another trigger and you've been blamed. I'd bet there was another cause.

https://www.epilepsy.org.uk/info/photosensitive-epilepsy

Last edited:
That's what I was thinking but didn't want to argue when it comes to someone's health, better to be safe, etc.

I wasn't sure how high sync speed would factor in, as I understand it, that fires lots of tiny fast flashes so thought that might be a possibility.

the folks on the news etc are always warning about flash photography so I guess it's possible.

I always thought that was simply if you had a press pack of photographers then it seems possible to generate the right frequency of flashes to trigger seizures. I don't think 1 photographer on their own would manage 16-25 flashes a second. Even 3 flashes a second would be hard work.

HSS works at about 50 kHz so its way above what would trigger.