Gig/live music shooting, general advice welcome

Name
Sean
Edit My Images
Yes
I have been asked to take pictures of a band showcase event. I'm a hobbyist and the bands are various levels of ability.
No-one is getting paid, it should be a fun day. I have a Fuji x-T1 and a 18 - 55 lens. I can get as close as I want to the bands, and there seems to be the standard 3 overhead lights.
I thought that I would get some live action of each band and then some pics when they are not performing.
Other than enjoying the experience, not drinking until after and remembering my memory cards, is there anything I should look out for.
Thanks in advance.

My experience is that you will need a fairly high shutter speed (depending on how much the musicians/singers are moving about) and be able to shoot at a high ISO. Do not use flash as this is very distracting for those on stage. The link to the slideshow was from one of my last gigs and the lighting conditions were pretty awful with one big bright spotlight directly behind the drummer and a couple of wall lights at the side of the stage. I don't know whether it is any help but you can hold your mouse over 'EXIF' which will give you the data on my camera settings.

Bar42 live music

Hey, Len, very helpful. Thanks for reply. I don't use flash, but good to be aware of this.
Will check your pictures. As you say, light is probably going to be an issue.
I use up to ISO 6400 on my Fuji, hopefully this will help with shutter speed.

I suggest earplugs!
I'll second that.. sans sarcasm. Better shots usually beg you get close; best shots normally beg you bend down in-front of the bass bins!!

Otherwise; pub-gigs aren't the best show case for a band, aurally or visually; if you want a decent quality recording of their music, you'd get them in a Studio, likewise photo's! so don't get your hopes too high on what you may get.