guidance/help

Name
Sean
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi, Hope you can give me some guidance I've been asked if I can take some shots of the staff holding their favourite book at my school and at a bit of short notice i.e. tomorrow and Friday the only lighting I have is 2 flashguns and 2 softboxes and a led panel .there's a nice light blue wall in the staff room that I can use as a background or I have a grey pop up one I could use . I've never done this kind of photography before and find it hard to get my head around it. Can anyone help me with some basic settings for the flash and where to place the flashgun's and models and how to not get shadows on the wall
Thanks, Sean

What is the natural light like? If there's a big window you could probably do quite a bit with that and maybe a reflector (or big piece of white card).

Reason I ask is that if you're not comfortable with using flash, a last minute "canyoujustdo" job might not be the best place to try and learn.

I agree. Using flash takes time, patience and a fair bit of practice, so there's a good chance you'll get dreadful results the first time - especially with the added pressure of it being 'on demand'.

Once you get your head around using flash and understanding the Inverse Square Law, it's very simple and it will improve your photography because you'll finally understand the true relationship between light and exposure that so many photographers don't; even though they think they do.