help me buy a pro spec mac

mrjames

Suspended / Banned
Edit My Images
Yes
I have recently come into some money and my parents have offered to get me a new phone, and a new computer to replace my core 2 duo machine and buggered up iphone.

They told me I can get 'top of the line', but I just need to know what that is for me

My current laptop is a 15" macbook pro, 4gb ram, hdd connected up to a 26" screen. Great laptop, runs a bit slow but workable for photoshop/lightroom, the odd bit of 3d rendering and some video editing

I'm a designer and photographer, shooting quite easy-to-process 1dmk3 10mp files, but i'm probably upgrading camera to a 5d2 pretty soon and i'm going to start shooting video too.

A week ago I went to buy a 15" retina on higher purchase but was refused credit, I had originally planned to buy an air but decided against it.

I was saving for a base spec 13" macbook pro that I was going to upgrade to 16gb ram, put in an ssd and rip out the optical drive for a big hdd

so now that I have been given the go ahead for basically anything, the question is what the hell to get?

option 1) beast of a laptop- 15" retina/mpb- ~£1500

option 2) ok laptop, (13" mbp or air) ~£1000, ok desktop (Maybe a quad mac mini for 650)

option 3) beast desktop (27" imac) £1500, sell screen, keep current laptop, replace it with an older 13" for £500 in the future, upgrade to ssd for now

I was considering a used, 2011 macbook pro or imac, but lack of usb 3 is a killer- although there are some thunderbolt converters coming on the market now so i'm sure a $50 chinese knockoff isn't far away

my questions are:

1) for my use, is quadcore going to make much of a difference to photoshop/lightroom use (professional use, big files 1gb+)
2) will I miss the dedicated GPU, especially if I start video editing 5d2 and go pro footage
3) Will I regret going for the 13", in terms of screen size, dual core, etc