Beginner Help with Panasonic LUMIX TZ-90 and Portrait photos (new user)

Name
Charr
Edit My Images
No
Hello,
I am extremely new to photography so I am looking for some help and advice please.

I recently purchased a Panasonic Lumix TZ-90 (also known as ZS-70) in order to take portrait photos and Time-lapse videos of myself doing bodypainting.

Since purchasing this camera I am coming to realise that I did not do enough research and it may not be fully suited to my needs. Unfortunately I am not able to return the camera so I am hoping to make the best of what I have.

I am a bodypainter, I paint my face/upper chest and I want to time-lapse record the process and take photos/videos at the end but I am having some difficulties.
I understand that a time-lapse video is not the best option for fast moving objects (myself) but i'm afraid I don't have the storage space at the moment to take full videos of a process that can take up to 6 hours.

My main issue is taking photos/videos at the end of the process. When taking photos 1/3 will be out of focus even if I stay still, have the same lighting, distance from camera. It seems to focus on one area of my person and the rest is then out of focus. The videos also seem to be in a lower quality setting and I am not sure which settings I should use.

At the moment I mainly use Aperture mode with f5.0, SS 1" and ISO limited to under 400. I mainly use manual focus.

I guess I am just asking for the best settings to use for portrait photos, shot inside, on a tripod, with normal room lighting and a neweer ring light, distance of around 2/3 feet from camera but I can move if necessary.
Also, any tips on creating time-lapse videos of this process taken with the same conditions as above.

I apologise that I may be doing everything incorrectly, this is completely new to me.

Hopefully the below shows that parts of the photos, especially around the eyes etc, is out of focus:

tyfO2eF.jpg