Beginner Help with posing a group photo

Name
Paul
Edit My Images
Yes
I’ve been asked by a friend to take a family semi formal photo, of him, his wife and 4 little boys. Could someone point me in the direction of a good book, or some general pointers about posing this sort of group.
I have a Fuji xt10, 35mm 1.4 or 18-55mm lenses and a Godox TT350f flash and controller. So can either bounce the flash or use an umbrella for lighting.
Any help would be appreciated.

Do you need any props ? like a chair etc. Inside our outside photo?

What do they want? Indoor white background style image seen at many high street photographers, something outside, in a park, the garden?

What ideas have you had/researched so far?

I think it will be indoors, due to weather. They want it by the end of February. Personally I don’t want to do a white background. They haven’t given me lot to go on yet. I’ve asked them to look for pictures where they like the style. I have no backgrounds to use, so had suggested the park. I also suggested casual all sat together on sofa, but they said all other photos they’ve got are casual, so didn’t want that. Most of their pictures I’ve seen are snapshots or selfies, but still can’t get them to see, a better casual photo will look a lot, lot better than a selfie!

Posing... think triangle, heads with their own space and not all at the same level, watch for body parts and directions...

I’m thinking of ambient lighting.
My big worry is there are a lot of arms and legs going on, with 4 kids and 2 adults.

I picked up some good tips on a workshop - make sure the wife is beautifully posed, as she will be the one who will like or dislike the photo. Have men turned towards the light to make them broader and more masculine, and women turned away to make them thinner, have a connection (touching) for all the family, but watch out for fingers showing on shoulders. Hope that helps!

For anyone selling images, this is the oft missed no1 factor.