Beginner Hi and looking for advice

Edit My Images
Yes
Hi everyone!

I'm Mark from Belfast.

I'm looking for some advice on cameras. I currently have a Canon Eos 350d with the kit 18-55mm lenses and have been out and about to take some landscape/nightscape pics on the mourne mountains. My pics aren't great and as I'm still learning I know this is to be expected

I would love to capture the milky way and sunrises.

My dilema is, do invest in a better lens for the 350d or invest in a new camera. Im not tied to any particular brand but if im being honest it would probably be a nikon or a canon.

My budget will stretch to a nikon d5500 or canon equivalent but do I need a new camera or will my aging 350d do with a new lens.

untitled (11 of 1).jpg FB_IMG_1476195967300.jpg

These are the pics I like the most of what I have taken so far.

Thanks!

The pics you have don't look too bad so what is it you are expecting?

Whether you replace the 350D is up to you but a new lens will certainly be better then the kit lens - again depending on what you want to achieve.

If you do go for a new lens I would recommend going for the EF series and not the EFS series which is for 1.6 crop cameras only.

The best lenses are the L glass lenses but these are obviously much more expensive than some other lenses.

If you replace the camera then going by what you want to take I would recommend a FF camera like the 6D but there again you would also have to get good lenses to make the most of it.

So going by that and depending on your budget - lenses first.

Thanks petersmart. Those 2 pics are out of about 300 Ive taken. I've watched amazing sunrises over mountains and the pictures never seem to do them justice.

I'm leaning towards a new to me lens as it will give me more ideas of what can be achieved.

A friend I go up the mountains with has a d7100 and after reading through these forums I think its just kit envy as my pics never seem to match up to his.