Nah not on purpose for the majority.
If you do 'save for web' in ps then the exif is stripped. Think it happens on Flickr too (although retained in the sidebar, so you would see it here).
Lots of programs do strip it on save or export, but I can't see many reasons why it would be done on purpose...