How do you count a starling murmuration??

Name
Andy or Dij
Edit My Images
Yes
I have been going every evening over the past seven days to watch and photograph the starling murmurations at Barnsdale Hill on the edge of Rutland Water in Rutland. Being a regular i get asked various questions about them. But i am not an expert at all when it comes to birds or bird photography but i have another thread showing some of the formations they make.
The most poular questions asked are, 1 How many birds are there in this murmuration?
2 When will they stop murmurating and move on to pasture's new?
3 Why do they make the formations that they do?

Here are two photos from yesterday evening showing just a part of the vast cloud of starlings gathering overhead, probably about a third of the total there is !!.....one, two, three, four, five and so on!!.....Andy.

Can't help with 2 or 3 but if you cut and past the Starlings into a new image and then open it in ImageJ (http://imagej.nih.gov/ij/index.html) and use a suitable plugin such as (http://rsb.info.nih.gov/ij/plugins/cell-counter.html) it will count all the dots and spit out the exact number.

Thanks Gareth i will give that a go!

On pt 3: murmurations are an example of something known as emergent behaviour, where individuals following simple rules result in more complex outcomes.

http://www.wired.com/2013/03/powers-of-swarms/

Thanks for the information Paul !

Could I just be a bit of a Mr Grumpy here and question the use of the word "murmuration"?

To my simple brain "murmuration" sounds like an activity involving some kind of noise. In my experience when the starlings are in flight, displaying or whatever it is, I'm not aware of there being any noise at all. It is only when they land in the roosting site that they start chattering away madly. Even that I wouldn't call murmuring in any way!

As for the verb "murmurate" - words fail me!:help: