How good is the EOS 5D?

Name
Steve
Edit My Images
No
Hi all :wave:

I'm considering upgrading to a 5D from an EOS 30D :thinking: (I will be keeping the 30D ) but like the idea of ff for landscapes and macro! so here are my concerns, is the 5D perhaps a bit out-dated? is a newer model about to be released? Do any 5D users have anything negative to say about it ?

I'm, not actuall trying to start a negative thread for the 5D but would like to know what's not so good as I'm sure there are some niggles :cautious:and dissapointments about the camera?

Had one since December (upgraded from a 350D)...and I've not found a niggle yet. I'm mainly a nature/landscapes/people photographer, so it suits me perfectly. Its noise performance is excellent, and images have an indescribable rich, velvety feel that I've not seen from any other camera I've tried. I use a 20D as a day-to-day camera, and so the 5D gets taken out less often, but when I do use it for more organised shoots, the image quality just makes me smile every time. Some will say it needs good glass to get the best out of it though - yes, most of my lenses are L's, but some of the sharpest, richest shots I've taken with the 5D were with my Tamron 28-75mm - see here for some examples.

It's been around since 2005, but is still capable of great images, and I think it's amazing value at around £1100 after cashback. There'll probably be an updated version later this year, but it'll retail for closer to £2k, I expect. Buy now and enjoy (y)

Thanks marky_h

I also plan to keep the 30D as an everyday camera and the 5D for planned stuff :) (y)

Come on guys - Talk me out of it.... pleeease ;)

Steve

The 5D is a brilliant camera. At the moment excellent value at just over £1,000.

It's good in all situations (except perhaps sports), not just landscape.

Canon have not yet announced a new 5D even though it is well overdue for an upgrade. My guess is that they will announce the 5D MKII at Photokina this September.