Beginner How to start reading photos to make good critiques?

Name
Marcos Santana
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi all,

I’m a total beginner in photography and I decided entering a phase called “I don’t even know what I’m supposed to see”. My main issue is that if a photo doesn’t show something or a situation very clearly, I don’t even know where and how to approach it to try to understand.
How do you usually read a photo? Are you looking for composition? Lights? Subjects?

Those are things you might see afterwards, when you have a practiced eye. I always think, do I like it, before I start analysing it. Then you can ask yourself why.

Last edited:
It's really subjective; I suspect you'll get a slightly different answer from everyone who responds... for me, I'm looking for what the picture makes me feel, first & foremost: it could be the expression on someone's face in a portrait, or the atmosphere of a moody landscape (or just the beauty of a non-moody landscape).

Sometimes it will just be something interesting, like strong colours, or contrasting colours... it might be the composition, and that in itself could be because something is perfectly framed, or because every composition "rule" has been broken.

I'd suggest you just look at as many photos as you can and figure out which ones you like. It might be that photos which are more abstract don't interest you: that's absolutely fine. One of my good friends absolutely hates dead space in his photos, so he'll always crop pretty tightly to the subject. Someone else might let the subject almost get lost in the frame... doesn't mean that one of them is a bad photographer though, it just means they approach it differently.

The main thing as far as I'm concerned is to enjoy yourself :)

It’s a really good topic.

In photography / art there’s tons of ideas / concepts / theories / history / approaches. I think successful photographs incorporate some of these ‘things’.