I need a good compact!

Edit My Images
Yes
Hi all :wave: I've not been on here for ages but don't hold that against me ;)

I'm going on a rafting trip on the Vltava here in the CR and I need a camera, I'm not really interested in taking my 5D due not only the chance of it going swimming but also we'll have to leave the raft unattended quite often and I don't fancy leaving my camera with it or lugging it with me.

My problem is that I have no experience of compacts, lets say I have a budget of £200 (flexible) what's the best one to go for?

Ideally the camera will have a good number of manual settings and have IS. Good noise handling would be nice too. Resolution isn't important although I'd like enough to define detail quite well but not so high that noise is a problem. It'd be nice if it is a reasonably popular model too so that finding a waterproof bag for it won't be too difficult. Size wise, I don't want something that is so small you can't hold it but not so big that I can't have it attached to my person and get in the way of paddling. I just hope I'm not expecting too much for a compact :LOL:

So far I've found the Canon G9 and Panasonic TZ5, which seem to be quite good but I'm hoping others can give me a shove towards others that are worth looking at.

Ta. :)

what about a second hand Fuji S9600 "Bridge" camera? seen some cracking results with that and something worth thinking about for your trip
Thanks for the suggestion it'll probably tick all the performance boxes but I can't help thinking that being a bridge camera it may still be a bit bigger than I'd like :)

Canon G9. If you can't use a proper camera, use one of them.

It will even shoot RAW...

Canon G9. If you can't use a proper camera, use one of them.

It will even shoot RAW...
Yeah, that's the reason why I checked the G9 out first :)