Is Photography "elitist" ?

Edit My Images
No
Hello,

I've always had a great interest photography as an art form, and very much wanted to take a deeper interest. However I felt I could never "get into it" as such due to the high cost of equipment and my experiences meeting Photography and other Visual Arts students at university.

I studied for my degree in Manchester (and later in Paris and London), and met a number of visual arts and photography students during my studies. Many got into it as their parents were either professional photographers and artists or art dealers and gallery owners, and it seemed a logical step for them. Very few rented equipment from the University, having a decent set of tools for themselves. Only one that I met could be regarded as coming from a "working class" background.

Also, many of the photos that used to be displayed in the graduate exhibitions were often of seemingly glamorous places abroad that I couldn't afford to visit myself until several years later. It made me think at the time that professional Photography, Sculpture and Painting were quite "elitist" careers, in the same way as one often regards being a professional tennis player or barrister. It was only later that I realised that I could be wrong about this.

Does anyone else have an opinion about this, or similar experiences?

To me, you need some artistic talent. Yes, some of it can be taught, some of it can be down to having fancy equipment, but at the end of the day "talent" wins (in my eyes anyway).

I, and am sure many other members too, are from a working class background. I never had anything given to me on a plate. So people swanning around giving the attitude they are better than you gets my goat. I have come across people like this so i know what you mean.