Is photoshop the best?

Name
Hannah
Edit My Images
Yes
Hey all,
im just getting into editing and playing around with my photographs and just wondered if photoshop software was the best thing to do this with? and is it downloadable at all?
ta very much :D

Haha yea thats wat i was thinking... :confused: hmm

You'd probably be better starting with something like Photoshop Elements (6 is the latest I think). As the name suggests it's elements of the full CS packages. Does most things you'll need to get started. Costs about £50 - £70 if you shop about.

Just saw Adobe Photoshop Elements 5 on ebay for 23 quid - does that sound suspiciously reasonable? lol tho i spose if its the slightly older version then that might be why...

£23 sounds about right for E5 - just make sure it's really OEM (watermarked in jewel case) as there are loads of copies out there. You probably won't know until you receive it though - look out for amateur printing on the disc itself & a serial key that scrolls across the installation screen.

Just saw Adobe Photoshop Elements 5 on ebay for 23 quid - does that sound suspiciously reasonable? lol tho i spose if its the slightly older version then that might be why...

I use Elements 4, which I bought about 2 years ago for £56. So I'd think £23 is about right for 5.

Edit: Sorry Brash, can't be seen to be condoning/promoting illegal software - Dod

I use elements 5 and if you are just starting out with processing then I don't think you'll notice the difference between 5 and 6. Get Elements 5 at a cheap price now and by the time you're proficient you can upgrade, elements 7 will probably be around by then.

There are freewares you can use if you want the basics, like picasa, or free but more complicated is GIMP. Best of luck.

Thanks guys! ill probs try and pick up an elements 5 for the mo..will have a bit of an investigate! :D

you can download PS from Abobe.com on a 30 day trial to see if its what you want.