Just purchased a camera

Name
David
Edit My Images
Yes
I apologise in advance for the essay :p

After much searching the internet and spending endless hours looking at reviews etc, I have finally made a purchase.

A family member has upgraded to a D300 and is getting rid of his D40X. This comes with 2 Nikkor lenses (15-55 and 50-200 I believe, both AF and VR) and 1 Tamron 90mm lens. I decided to bite his hand off.

I was originally going to purchase a D90 but then thought, as this was going to be my first SLR, I may not take to it and that would have been a lot of money to potentially waste. The plan is to cut my teeth on the D40X, see how I get on and go from there.

I'm a genuine beginner when it comes to any of this and I'm graduating from simply, point and shoot cameras so have very little experience in this field. I am however very willing to learn and hopefully my new camera will help me get to grips with things and learn the ropes a little.

The only thing that slightly worried about with the D40X is the exclusion of live view. Is this something to be concerned about? Does this mean that I just have to get to grips with using the viewfinder? Perhaps this would be a good thing and stop me from being lazy.

I'm picking the camera up on Monday so will hopefully get some pics up soon :woot:

Thanks for reading

Dave

liveview is something that you really dont want/need on a camera!

obv some situations are different and it could come in handy but iv never needed it in any of mines (y)

congrats on the d40x, i had a d40 for my first camera and loved it.

Liveview is a gimmick.
Yoi don't need it on an SLR as you can see through the lens anyway.
It's much easier to hold your camera steady, if you have it pressed against your face.

Nice camera, i started with the D40x a couple of years ago, after i learnt a few basics and began practice i felt ready to step up. I got the D90 and still managed to get 6/7th of the price back for my D40x