Leica q

Name
Stephen
Edit My Images
Yes
so..does anyone have opinions on Leica's latest offering v. The competition...not that there seems to be much..quite like the idea of a full frame , smallish camera with a fixed length lens..it is quite expensive however!

Well, it certainly looks interesting but the focal length doesn't appeal to me and as an amateur I would be concerned about the depreciation on such a camera.... in terms of competition there isn't really any at that focal length is there?

Looks nice but on the whole it's not for me and I'd much rather go for a cheaper FF option, a Sony A7 with 28mm f2, 35mm f2.8 or 55mm f1.8. I haven't checked the prices too closely but maybe for the cost of the Leica an A7 + more than one lens could be bought and then you could pick and choose which one lens solution to go with from day to day.

Looks nice but on the whole it's not for me and I'd much rather go for a cheaper FF option, a Sony A7 with 28mm f2, 35mm f2.8 or 55mm f1.8. I haven't checked the prices too closely but maybe for the cost of the Leica an A7 + more than one lens could be bought and then you could pick and choose which one lens solution to go with from day to day.

This :):agree:

Or the RX1/r @ 35mm

Small and with a quality lens but AFAIK there's no in built EVF which means shooting with the back screen which I find mostly a horrible way to live or fitting an add on EVF to the hotshoe? I've never liked the thought of this as it just looks like something just waiting to fall/snap off. Given the choice I'd choose an integrated EVF every time and in fact I'd rather use my old crappy Panasonic G1 than a RX1 with an add on EVF. But that's just me :D

so..does anyone have opinions on Leica's latest offering v. The competition...not that there seems to be much..quite like the idea of a full frame , smallish camera with a fixed length lens..it is quite expensive however!