light painted BMW

Name
peter
Edit My Images
Yes
Last edited:
They never turn out amazing on the first go, but these look better than my first attempt so thats a great start for you.

The problem is, you can see how "speckled" and blotchy the car looks with uneven painting. (especially with the 1st and 3rd image), but you've got the technique sorted so I think a bit more practice for you and you'll get some cracking shots using a torch.

I think the hardest thing with the torch, is painting it evenly - you cant judge if its been painted properly when you're physically doing it but if you can imagine "literally" - painting it rather than just waving the torch around you'll get a better look.

The reason its come out blotchy is because where you have waved it around, its crossed over to a previous spot where you have already painted it, so that part of the car is brighter. Im not too good with light painting - hence I switched to a larger light source i.e. a flash and softbox and move the softbox around the car but its been a year or more since I tried it. Its much more difficult than people realise - but good on you for this good first attempt (y)

take your time with it and you will nail it, even chuck a bit of tissue paper over the light source to soften it slightly if that helps! 1st photo makes a great location for it.

They never turn out amazing on the first go, but these look better than my first attempt so thats a great start for you.

The problem is, you can see how "speckled" and blotchy the car looks with uneven painting. (especially with the 1st and 3rd image), but you've got the technique sorted so I think a bit more practice for you and you'll get some cracking shots using a torch.

I think the hardest thing with the torch, is painting it evenly - you cant judge if its been painted properly when you're physically doing it but if you can imagine "literally" - painting it rather than just waving the torch around you'll get a better look.