Lighting for Portraits?

Name
James
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi all,
I have a Nikon D40 with a Nikkor 18-55mm lens and also a Sigma 70-300mm lens, and have had them for about 6 months. I have taken it on Holiday to the USA and have really nice pictures, but im starting to want to take some portrait and more professional looking photos of people.
I want to try and get the effect of places like venture, where people actually go to have them taken.
I think it is the lighting that is my big problem, it never looks right!
I don't have use of a Studio and am wondering of there are any tips people could give me for either taking photos or any equipment i should buy.
The only problem is that im a student and so price is a problem, as much as i would love to spend £££££, i cant!
Thanks in advance,
James

Hi all,
I have a Nikon D40 with a Nikkor 18-55mm lens and also a Sigma 70-300mm lens, and have had them for about 6 months. I have taken it on Holiday to the USA and have really nice pictures, but im starting to want to take some portrait and more professional looking photos of people.
I want to try and get the effect of places like venture, where people actually go to have them taken.
I think it is the lighting that is my big problem, it never looks right!
I don't have use of a Studio and am wondering of there are any tips people could give me for either taking photos or any equipment i should buy.
The only problem is that im a student and so price is a problem, as much as i would love to spend £££££, i cant!
Thanks in advance,
James

White bedsheet for a background and floor would be a cheap start, James (y)

Do you have a flash at all?

Oh, by the way, welcome to the forums! (y)

The only flash I have is the one built into the camera! I thought that, so later i will be off to buy a cheap bedsheet!!

and i forgot to say, i also have a tripod and a remote control!

Thanks for the welcome!