Beginner Making the Jump

Name
José
Edit My Images
No
Hello all!

I am after a bit of guidance and advice please.

I have been "playing around" with photography for the last 18 months almost. When I bought my camera it was intended to be a hobby but I have been well and truly sucked in.
I decided quite early on last year that I wanted to tray and make a living from this amazing hobby.
I am now currently doing a level 3 in Photography with the hope I can one day earn a living from photography. We are doing a Studio unit at the moment which I'm enjoying more than I thought I would.

I currently work as a sign maker/designer which I've been doing for the past 10 years.

My interests are motorsport/automotive or sport photography in general and also food photography. Although I haven't had a chance to practice either much, especially motorsport. I don't mind wedding photography that much either. Although I understand it can be quite a headache.

My question is how do I get started? Where do I get the real life experience? How do I make the jump from sign maker to professional photographer?
Should I put my name out to other photographers out there/ on here to tag along as a second shooter or even just to watch and learn? Should I join clubs? I really don't know where to start and a little push in the right direction would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

Thanks for your response Simon, however finding customers isn't my concern. It's having the confidence to go out, take the photos and feel comfortable charging for them.
I am staying in my job for the foreseeable. Financially I can't just give up my job. I want to build the photography around what I'm doing now and look to take it further as it grows. I should've probably mentioned that in my original post - apologies.

You'll only get confidence from getting a customer and charging them for your work and seeing them happy with it. More you do, more confident you become.