Mirror less cameras advice needed

Name
Michael
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi all
I'm a vehicle photographer with a dealership and I've been using a canon 5dii .
I've been fighting with my camera for too long now.
I'm not looking for advise on changing the background color or location of my shoot because this is what my client needs.
I'm shooting the cars with a white wall in the background. When shooting different color cars my camera sometimes has a mind me it's own . Images going from under to over exposed.
I've decided to change my camera to a mirrorless one so here's my question.
What camera in your opinion works well for this type of photography especially with the majority of my image being WHITE ? as you know every digital camera want to turn white to mid Grey.
I want a camera with good battery life also

ANY IDEAS ?

Mod edit post re-instated

Last edited by a moderator:
The 5D2 is a capable camera capable of consistent results. What white balance are you using? What modes are you using. If you have something approaching studio environment you should be getting consistent results. I don't think changing camera will make a difference, there is something in how you are using it.

I would try not using auto white balance, but set the white balance to something representative.

I am not a car photographer but....Sounds like you need to shoot in RAW and set your camera to manual. .

Shooting raw wont make any difference... setting to manual will

The answer as Andrew says is to NOT let the camera choose the white balance.. the clue is in the question when the OP says "my camera sometimes has a mind me it's own " believe me going mirrorless or any change of camera wont fix this... The OP needs to learn how to set his own WB by taking a reading.....

ADDYONBIT
@j crossley I wasnt copying we posted at same time oops :)

Last edited: