Motorsport and flash photography

Name
Vlad
Edit My Images
Yes
Ok, I am a 1 week old noob at flash and need to ask a question, so be patient!

Did a rally last weekend and used my shiny new flash a fair bit and discovered how this freezes the action - in particular wheels and thats a no-no in motorsport togging.

The problem I believe is actually the duration of the flash burst itself - I've read its very fast and I guess when there is little or no other light present regardless of the camera's shutter speed, the light was only there for a stupidly short time, hence the action freeze.

Have I got this right?

Would moving up to hi-speed sync (FP) mode which uses pulses of light rather than a single flash help? Unless this overall duration was more than about 1/125th or 1/250th at the most, it probably won't make much odds though.

I was using rear curtain sync (obviously not with FP...), is there a better bet than this?

Another idea today was to use a slow shutter with a series of repeated flashes - which should light the subject and allow the wheels to be in different places with each burst.

Anyone got any tried and tested ideas?

I am off to shoot a night race this weekend and would rather not just have frozen cars. Failing such a solution I'll just try some whacky stuff instead :D

No not really.

erm, isn't pointing a flash at drivers in a night race a bit dangerous? :thinking:

Not unless they're looking straight at the photographer, the light will be in their peripheral vision.

High speed sync will probably freeze the action even more as your shutter speed will come down too. This will also have the side effects of reducing the ambient exposure unless you open up the aperture to compensate (at the expense of DOF) and reducing the output power of the flash. You might also get more ghosting unless your panning is spot on due to the longer duration of the flash. I'll admit it's not something I've tried but it's what I would expect to happen.