Motorsport Lens under £800

Name
Andrew
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi,
I was wondering if anyone could help. I am currently using a Canon 600D. I am a keen motorsport photographer especially F1 and am looking at investing a new lens probably the Sigma 150-500mm.

Could anyone provide me with feedback on this lens and how good it is for Motorsport photography? I am not sure how quick it is at focusing.

Also if anyone else knows of potential alternatives out there that might be better? I am looking to spend no more than £800.

Thanks for reading,
Andrew

you could easy pic up a sigma 150-500mm secondhand lens for a lot less than 800

I use a Sigma 120-300 F/2.8, good lens also compatible with tele convertors. Heavy though.

You won't go wrong with any of Gary's suggestions, either.

I use the 150-500mm Sigma for the 750Motor Championships and its superb.

The only way it would be hard work is if the light is terrible but even then if your panning at low shutter speeds its not much of a problem anyway as the iso shouldn't be that high with shutters under 1/100th

If you want a prime, then I'd recommend the Canon 300 F4 IS - you'll be able to get one 2nd hand within your budget or new if you stretch it a bit...

a good start up lens is a second hand 100-400 canon
cant go too far wront with that as a first step.
otherwise (also second hand) and 70-200mm f2.8 and a 1.4x TC

+1

300/f4 would be a good choice but limit possibilities so would go with the zoom

Last edited:
WOW Thank you all for your feedback. I was thinking of the Canon 100-400 but it seems even second hand to be around £900+ but more around the £1000 mark. Does anyone have any links to some other second hand stores by any chance.

Another vote for the Sigma 120-300mm f2.8 or 100-300mm f4 (I've got the former as I needed f2.8 for field sports). Both will take a 1.4x TC well to give extra reach when required.

The 2.8 is a very versatile lens indeed, as above I use mine for just about everything!

or