Moving from bridge to dslr

Name
Lesley
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi I’m really in a dilemma about what to do. My bridge camera has been great but I want to improve the quality of my bird photos. I tried a more expensive bridge… the rx10 4 but hated it as I didn’t have the optical zoom I wanted and I just found it far too complicated. . I’m a beginner so don’t know what I’m talking about half the time by the way!
I had a chat ‘online’ with my local camera store who suggested a good dslr (which I have decided on a Canon EOS 850D maybe). The lens I was recommended for birdwatching and getting close is the Sigma 150-600mm f5-6.3 Contemporary DG OS HSM Lens with 1.4x Teleconverter - Canon Fit.

I’m just worried that it will be too heavy for me? The lens weighs almost 2kg. I’m in my early 50s and have tennis elbow (don’t play tennis tho!).

I’m in a complete dilemma. There doesn’t seem to be anywhere local to me I can actually try this out. Scared to make an expensive mistake. I don’t really want another bridge as the only upgrade woud be to a p1000 and I don’t want one. Any advice greatly received.

It all depends :) there are previous threads on this, some quite recent.

Micro four thirds is another option to look at that may be less weight.

If you will be mostly in the same spot then a tripod would help with the weight.

Micro four thirds is another option to look at that may be less weight.
Agreed.

Look at the Panasonic G9 and the Panasonic Leica 100~400mm. Because of the smaller sensor, this will give you a similar range to the Canon/Sigma combination for much lower weight. It's also a lot easier to hand hold.

Hi and welcome to TP

FWIW

I was a long term Canon user (from about 1989).....fast forward to 2016......when I had the 5Dmk3 and the Canon 100-400mm zoom and had a weight of gear crisis i.e. I was kn***ered every time I took it out!

I switched to Olympus micro 4/3's gear (mFT) and sold all my Canon kit.