My Cat in Mid Lick .....

Edit My Images
No
DSC00306.jpg

Just a quick one, i'm quite proud of it considering i am not very experienced in photography.

It's better than the dog's nose :)

Animal photos are nearly always better taken from the same level as the animal.

This shot would have looked slightly better without all the clutter in the background

Hi Rage,

Welcome to TPF.

I see you like taking pics of your pets.
While you dont need to own the best cameras and equipment in the world, you do actually need to put some thought into your pitures (composition) to get pleasing results, that people will want to look at.

As suggested above, getting down to the animal's level is often a very good idea, and also, if the subject is in less than ideal surroundings e.g. a cluttered background, its best to fill your frame with your subject.
You have a lot of distractions in your picture ... glare from the camera's flash, as well as clutter.
Aside from composition, the picture is also very dark, do you have any editing software?
You can buy Elements 5 quite cheaply, I hear. Or there is freeware such as Picasa, or GIMP(Google them).
This software will help you edit your pictures to make them lighter/darker/sharper/softer etc. as I have done here in with Photoshop.

DSC00306.jpg

Meanwhile I suggest you go practice taking pictures while thinking about your composition, i.e subject placement & backgrounds, etc.

Good luck.