My experience with Nikon (APS-C), Fuji X and M4/3

Name
Andrew
Edit My Images
No
Warning - long post !

Hi all. Not sure if this will be of help to anyone, but I’m in the very lucky position to own all three systems above, and so as I’ve had my latest system (the Fuji X) for about 4 months now, I thought it was time to express my thoughts / opinions on all systems.

A little bit of background. I’ve been shooting for over 40 years now and the vast majority of that has been solely with Nikon (first film then digital) with a very brief spell in the late 70’s early 80’s with Pentax. Whilst I’ve always (luckily) been fully employed outside of photography, I have over the years done many weddings (up to 20 a year at one time), christenings, portraits etc. although I’ve stopped much of that and these days shoot purely for personal pleasure.

I won’t get into why I have 3 systems, but I just do, and have started using each of them for specific uses (more later). So, my systems surround the following – Nikon D500, Olympus OMD EM1 MK11 (and MK1) and a Fuji X-T2. Each body is arguably the top of its particular niche. I’ll break my “review” down into sections for easier reading.

Body Size and handling
For me (and surprisingly) the Olympus is my favourite body in the hand. It’s just beautiful to hold, with a perfect weight and great hand grip. The Fuji X-T2 second, and relegated to second due to the grip not being quite big enough for my hands (slightly remedied by the optional Arca small grip for the X-T2). The Nikon D500 is last, but for a DSLR, is beautifully crafted with a fantastic grip, but is obviously much larger and heavier than the Olympus or Fuji body and it’s that which relegates it to last place.

System lenses and accessories