My first grandchild

Name
gary
Edit My Images
Yes
Well folks my first grandchild is 4 days old today and I'm thinking of trying to take some proper pics with my camera instead of my phone
I have 7d mkii and I'm thinking my 50mm 1.8 I've also got a 24 - 105 and a 100 mm f2.8 L macro but would I be better off getting a 17mm- 55 mm f2.8 I've always fancied one anyway
Any any tips on photographing baby would be much appreciated im a keen hobbyist so I'm not expecting professional results but I try hard lol

Congrats on becoming a granddad :)

I can't offer too much advice other than take your time. I was worried about using flash on new borns (or nearly new borns ;)) not sure if this thread will help https://www.talkphotography.co.uk/threads/safest-way-to-light-a-new-born.638575/

I used a studio flash in a softbox, taking suitable precautions to avoid accidents and fwiw all were shot on FX (Nikon full frame) and an 85mm lens so your 50mm should be fine - however I cannot think of a better excuse to get the 17-55 so :D ....

You'll be fine with the 50 & 100, that said on a crop you might want a bit wider than 50 for some stuff I suppose but can't really see what you'll gain waiting for or getting the 17-55. 24-105 should be more than wide enough for anything you'll shoot.

Shoot lots of details with the macro lens, fingers, lips, feet they'll never be that size again. Shoot some with a favourite teddy, it's cute but it also adds a scale reference when they look back it reinforces how tiny they are at this point.