Beginner New camera?

Name
Andrew
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi all, as a total beginner in this world of pictures, I am using an old camera that I forgot I had, it was bought for my wife (who never used it), it is a Fujifilm Finepix s4200 bridge camera, due to its age, the software that came with the camera is no longer usable, if I try the disc on my PC it just says it needs windows xp or windows 7, I can get around this, but it is a pain. So to the issue of do I get another camera or not?, then do I stay with bridge cameras (as an all round solution) or get a cheap DSLR?, mirrorless is out due to cost unfortunately. I have no ambitions of being a pro photographer, or starting this as a business, I am purely doing it for my own enjoyment. As someone who is now in their 60's and not as mobile as I used to be, I also do not drive, so I am stuck with my local area which fortuntely has a park with a lake in it, so I see a lot of ducks, swans, etc and quite a few squirrels. The question is on a very limited budget of £500 no more, what is the best option for me?. I have upto now just been taking shots of Flowers and a few landscape type shots in the park, I tried to take some bird shots (using burst mode of 6 shots) but they just seem to be blurred, down to me and practise I know, I am waffleing on a bit now so will end here, any suggestions would be gratefully recieved, I will try to post some of my pics later, when I figure out how lol, wont be many only started this week.
cheers Andrew.

As your on a limited budget you don't weant to have additional costs in buying lenses for it. So on that basis I would suggest a compact camera I have the panasonic lumix DC-TZ95 (approx £400) which takes excellent photos/videos and leave enough cash to get Memory cards as well as spare batteries.. Has a flip up rear screen and packed with loads of features including 4K. Small enough to put into a pocket as well.