New here, be kind

Name
Craig
Edit My Images
No
Hi, first post here and I'm gonna get straight into asking for a bit of advice.

I bought myself a Nikon D60 a couple of months back and I love it, I'm totally new to photography so I have no idea where to go next. I'm after a second lens and I was thinking about a Nikon 55-200mm, would this be a good buy or should I wait till I've got the cash for something better.

Nice forum BTW

Craig

i take it you have the 18-55 kit lens already right?

Think about what you want to do with your photography but can't right now because you are limited by your kit.

the 55-200 would give you more reach to take tighter pictures of things further away which is great if you want to do that, not so hot if all you find yourself shooting is landscapes at 18mm.

Do you shoot a lot in low light? Would a fast prime be a better option?

There are a few things that you could buy but it kinda depends on what you do and what you want to do

You don't say what lens you got with it but I assume it was the 18-55mm.
I'd probably sell that off and put the money to a good all round lens.
I think the best value all round, all purpose lens you should go for is the 18-200mm VR.
It's a great little lens.
This will perform better that any of the other Nikon **-200mm zooms except the super 70-200mm which is very expensive.

Next depends on your main use but many look for a good value wide angle lens such as the Sigma 10-20mm.

THe 10-20mm and 18-200mm will cover most stuff until you find your way.

Hi, first post here and I'm gonna get straight into asking for a bit of advice.

I bought myself a Nikon D60 a couple of months back and I love it, I'm totally new to photography so I have no idea where to go next. I'm after a second lens and I was thinking about a Nikon 55-200mm, would this be a good buy or should I wait till I've got the cash for something better.

Nice forum BTW

Craig