Beginner New to photography

Name
Ross
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi guys,

As the title says I am new to photography. I have bought myself a bridge camera, Nikon Coolpix L830 to be precise, as I would like to explore the wonders of photography.

I have uploaded a select few photos in which I have taken over the Christmas period and any help/advice/hints/tips would be very appreciated.

Thanks in advance

Ross

DSCN0094 by ross.callender, on Flickr

DSCN0103 by ross.callender, on Flickr

DSCN0260 by ross.callender, on Flickr

DSCN0211 by ross.callender, on Flickr

DSCN0233 by ross.callender, on Flickr

DSCN0188 by ross.callender, on Flickr

I was discussing this with someone @KingRoach that it's not the equipment that makes the photographer (or any creative for that matter) it's the person behind the camera.

Great photos Ross, I have a bridge camera too and it's given me some good results.

A cracking first set of images, Ross. If they're what you produced on your first outings with a camera then you're off to a much better start than I was! :)

The only image I'll comment on directly is the first one with the lighthouse, were you trying to achieve something specific in having it so far off level? I'm not someone who believes horizons always have to be perfectly straight and level but I can't see the benefit of having that one on such a slant, was there a reason for it?

Well, "it looks nice that way" is a good enough reason for me. ^_^