Beginner Newbie alert here

Name
Trev
Edit My Images
Yes
Howdo all Newbie person here, I'm just after some advice on what camera to buy... I'm a novice with taking pics I've had a Nikon coolpix camera but i wanna take it a step further and get a DSLR camera which will be my first... I'm looking at getting a Nikon Camera, I've been looking at getting a D5300 or D5500 i do love the touch screen with the D5500 but if i get a D5300 i can build up my lenses... so i don't know which way to go, I'll be mainly taking pics of Landscapes and festivals that sort of thing... also where is the best place to buy from as i heard alot of stories of grey imports which i don't want...

any advice would be appreciated

Thanks

Trev

Hi Trev and welcome to TP. There are loads of threads from Newbies asking about their first camera. One of the best pieces of advice is to go to a shop and handle them in real life, to see which suits you best. I would also add that not to discount other makes, as you might prefer the ergonomics of another brand. The other piece of advice I would give is always buy the best lenses you can afford, camera bodies depreciate and are superseded fairly quickly, but lenses don't as much. As to where to buy, I guess that depends on where you live.

I've got the d5300 and am very happy with it, I don't know if you'd see any difference between image quality between the two.

I bought mine in March and was initially a bit disappointed with not having touch screen but now after many walks in the freezing cold with my gloves on I'm really glad not to have it and when I eventually upgrade I'll be looking for models without touch screens.

I've had a Nikon coolpix camera but i wanna take it a step further and get a DSLR camera which will be my first... I'm looking at getting a Nikon Camera, I've been looking at getting a D5300 or D5500 i do love the touch screen with the D5500 but if i get a D5300 i can build up my lenses...