Beginner newbie camera advice for this project

Name
dave
Edit My Images
No
Hi all,

I'm new on here and a complete newbie in the world of photography. I notice there are a few of the same posts regarding best cameras for beginners and don't want to create another of the same posts. Whilst I've read a few of these posts I wondered if there was a particular camera suited to the current project I wish to undertake which is explained below.

I am an artist/sculptor and want to incorporate small scale model figures into some of my artistic 3D scenes. These are very detailed figures in the size of 1:87 (HO Size). I want to take pictures of my scenes which I can then turn into prints up to say A3 size. With the figures being anywhere from 15mm-25mm the faces and features are very detailed up close but will loose detail if not using the correct camera.

Could anyone give me some advice on some models and as I would probably have to pick up a secondhand camera. I don't have a massive budget but any advice on the kinds of brands/pixels/lens I should be looking for for would be a great help.

many thanks in advance.

I think with this sort of "macro" work, you would be better with a smaller sensor camera, rather than a DSLR. It is probably also worth considering the lighting.

I don't have a massive budget
Hi Dave. Welcome to TP. I know you say you don't have a massive budget, but a ballpark idea would really help folks. No point in someone typing out a recommendation for a £500 camera if your budget is £50.

As Lewis mentions, lighting is also important. If you could give an example of the sort of thing you're trying to photograph (can it be moved, or do the lights need to be moved to it?) that would also really help.

I'd suggest an Olympus M4/3 camera and their excellent 60mm macro lens.

Maybe an EM1 MK2 body if funds allow?

Probably get both for around £550 - £600