Newbie to Strobist - Questions for gear purchase!

Edit My Images
No
Howdy all, I'm about to finally dive straight into off-camera lighting and I'm thinking of purchasing a strobist kit from midwest photo exchange - I live in the UK but I can't see a better way of getting started than their kit...

I do have a few questions though if anybody would be kind enough!

I have a Canon 450D and I'd like to get an SB-28 or similar from eBay, so I presume that I need the kit listed at the bottom of this message (SN2) - is this correct?

I'm going to replace the rechargeable batteries / charger with a Cactus V2 set (trigger + receiver?) - Will I have everything I need to be up and running with the kit and the Cactus triggers - or will I need any additional adapters or anything?

Also, there's no mention of an umbrella clamp (or whatever they're called) to attach the umbrella to the stand!? - Sorry, as you can tell I'm a bit of a newbie to all of this and need a little help.

Thanks in advance everybody!

Starving Student No PC Kit (SN2)

For: Canon Rebel series, Nikon D40, D60, D70, D80, any other camera with a hot shoe.

Includes:
1 - Vivitar 285HV Shoe Mount Flash
1 - 8ft. Air Cushioned Light Stand
1 - 15ft. PC to household Male cord
1 - Multi-Purpose Hot Shoe Deluxe
1 - Wein HSH Hotshoe to household adapter
1 - Westcott 43” Compact Umbrella - Soft Silver
1 - Rosco Pro Color Correction Gel Pack
1 - DIY Grid, Barndoor, Snoot kit
1 - CTA Ni-MH 2700mAh AA 4-pack Battery w/Rapid Charger
1 - Bongo Elastic Ties (10 pack)
1 - Umbrella Swivel
1 - Nano Gaffer Tape roll 1"x8yds

Where are you buying this from??

MPEX.

Also, there's no mention of an umbrella clamp (or whatever they're called) to attach the umbrella to the stand!?

Oh yes there is Leo!....

Starving Student No PC Kit (SN2)

1 - Bongo Elastic Ties (10 pack)
1 - Umbrella Swivel
1 - Nano Gaffer Tape roll 1"x8yds

Hi and welcome,

First off, familiarise yourself with all the various bits and pieces by watching this viddie