NGC7822 - In colour

Name
Sara
Edit My Images
Yes
NGC78222 is a young star forming region in the constellation of Cepheus approximately 3000 light years away.

This is approximately 19 hours worth of total exposure, each individual exposure is 30 minutes. This is a false colour image, so not the real colour if we could see it, pioneered originally by Hubble, hence its called a Hubble palette.

NGC7822 in Hubble palette
por swag72, en Flickr

I think the images are amazing (I'm a physicist and I know my astrophysics colleagues would love these).

My only comment is that when I see other types of images on here that are this good, they inspire me to try and do something similar. With these, I know I don't have a chance in hell of replicating anything like them.

My only comment is that when I see other types of images on here that are this good, they inspire me to try and do something similar. With these, I know I don't have a chance in hell of replicating anything like them.

It's an expensive and time consuming hobby if you want to produce images of a good standard. You'd need to start with everything new, a DSLR certainly won't cut it for this type of work. If I try to think about the amount that my current kit has cost it's well in excess of £10k and that doesn't include all the upgrades that I've made along the way to get to where I am.

If you are interested then get onto an astronomy forum - There's loads of beginners tips and help and really for starters you don't need good kit, but you did say about producing decent images :D

Fantastic image. The detail and contrast is amazing. Thanks for sharing.

I wish I had the time and more importantly the money to take photos like this one. My SW130P and Canon 450D not quite up to producing pictures like this!