Nikkor f1.2 MF lens

Name
Richard
Edit My Images
No
I have never used a lens of this type/quality before, can you tell me should I buy and sell all my other 50mm or not.:thinking:

Thank you in anticipation.(y)

The earlier 55mm wasn't especially sharp at f/1.2 (which, let's face it, is pointless since the whole reason you should own a lens like this is for sharpness wide open).

The 58mm NOCT-Nikkor has a superb reputation but is fantastically expensive on the used market (one sold on eBay USA for nearly $3,000 recently).

The 50mm is probably the best compromise between used price (£300-400, depending on the copy) and sharpness wide open.

I'd still personally buy a 50mm f/1.4 and put the savings in another gear. It's a half a stop difference, which is the same as shooting f/1.2 on ISO 400 film or shooting f/1.4 on ISO 560 film (hardly the push of the century).

I have never used a lens of this type/quality before, can you tell me should I buy and sell all my other 50mm or not.:thinking:

Thank you in anticipation.(y)

Buy one, it's my favourite lens but a bugger to focus at 1.2 on my F100.

I've got rid of my f1.8 but still have the 1.4 attached to the F4

^ good point, ideally you should have a split-prism focusing screen and a bright viewfinder - thinking the K screen on the F3, the K3 screen on the FM(2)/FE(2) line of cameras etc.

Thanks Guys

I have one (I picked one up in less than perfect cosmetic condition for around £250) and it is a lovely lens in many ways.

View is brighter through the viewfinder - this thing sucks light in! Wide open it needs to be used with care - best at middle distances I think, where it can still isolate subject and is at its sharpest. There is a kind of dreamy look wide open which you either love or hate. Up to f2.8 I suspect it's the best 50mm of all the Nikkors, but they're all great anyway so I don't think that is a massive thing personally. Between f4 and f16 there's probably nothing to choose between them.