Nikon D3300 Auto exposure

Edit My Images
Yes
Hi all,

I'm a beginner and was experimenting with my camera yesterday.

It was in the evening in my room with warm white LED ceiling lights. I was trying different modes taking pictures of random stuff, and what I noticed is when I let the camera deal with the exposure on S mode, the exposure shows up on the histogram as in the second quadrant of the graph, so slightly under exposed. The camera says the exposure is correct though by looking at the exposure meter before you snap. You look at the resulting picture and it is a little dim. To correct this I would have to do +0.3 on exposure compensation, then it looks good. I haven't tried the same in other environments yet just in the same room for now but it looked odd to me.

Is there something wrong with the camera's auto exposure?

Probably not a problem. In shutter priority the camera opens and closes the lens aperture to control the exposure. But the camera may have difficulty opening up the aperture sufficiently to make an adequate exposure, particularly if you're using a fairly slow lens such as the kit lens.

I also remember trying in M mode, with the aperture fully open as it would go, on auto ISO with a high limit something like 12000, and me controlling the shutter speed. The camera had plenty of room to correct exposure with the full open aperture coupled with the high ISO limit. It still gave similar results.

Ok, give us some specifics in that case; what shutter speed, aperture and ISO were you using [or did the camera choose] and what was the lighting [indoor, outdoor, bright etc].

Ok one example:

1/125
f5.6 - I was zoomed in to max
ISO Auto 5000
Indoor dim lighting.

1/60
ISO Auto (unsure exactly what this one was but was lower as the camera compensated for shutter speed)
Same Indoor dim lighting