1. damianmkv

    damianmkv Uh oh, a fruit basket!

    Messages:
    5,857
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Has anyone bought aftermarket batteries for a d3400 ? I usually buy ex-pro but they don't list them
     
  2. Al1944

    Al1944

    Messages:
    6,735
    Edit My Images:
    No
  3. damianmkv

    damianmkv Uh oh, a fruit basket!

    Messages:
    5,857
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Thanks Al - might give that a shot as then atleast my eldest will have a back up.

    PS - he was wowed by the quality of the video and the mic on the d3400 compared to his d3100. He has a GoPro hero 5 black too ( when he remembers to charge the batteries :thinking: )
     
    SsSsSsSsSnake and Al1944 like this.
  4. SsSsSsSsSnake

    SsSsSsSsSnake

    Messages:
    9,006
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    I usually buy my nikon batteries from Al when he sells his d3300’s :ROFLMAO:
     
    Al1944 likes this.
  5. damianmkv

    damianmkv Uh oh, a fruit basket!

    Messages:
    5,857
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    I tried that - he went and bought another camera :mad:

    :D
     
    SsSsSsSsSnake and Al1944 like this.
  6. jonbeeza

    jonbeeza

    Messages:
    6,486
    Name:
    john
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    I was lucky enough to get the deal on the D3300, came with a spare battery and bag. :)
     
  7. Al1944

    Al1944

    Messages:
    6,735
    Edit My Images:
    No
    And me - about three D3300s ago. Have bought a few more batteries since though! :)
     
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2018
  8. jonbeeza

    jonbeeza

    Messages:
    6,486
    Name:
    john
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Amazing. lol :)
     
  9. Doc

    Doc

    Messages:
    1,154
    Name:
    John
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
  10. Al1944

    Al1944

    Messages:
    6,735
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Just a heads up :) - Chris @SsSsSsSsSnake has jumped ship again :) :olympus:
     
    SsSsSsSsSnake likes this.
  11. Al1944

    Al1944

    Messages:
    6,735
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Anyone using the 55-200 VR II?
     
  12. jonbeeza

    jonbeeza

    Messages:
    6,486
    Name:
    john
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    What, he has got a new toy? lol. I must admit, I was looking at a Sony compact. A little to over priced I think, so I am not abandoning my D3300 just yet.
     
    SsSsSsSsSnake likes this.
  13. jonbeeza

    jonbeeza

    Messages:
    6,486
    Name:
    john
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    I was looking at such a zoom, but I don't know what I am doing just yet.
     
    SsSsSsSsSnake likes this.
  14. Al1944

    Al1944

    Messages:
    6,735
    Edit My Images:
    No
    It's Olympus now - I think he's working through the alphabet but haphazardly ;) Good on him :)
     
    SsSsSsSsSnake likes this.
  15. Al1944

    Al1944

    Messages:
    6,735
    Edit My Images:
    No
    I don't know what I'm doing any time!
     
    SsSsSsSsSnake and jonbeeza like this.
  16. Daniel_Paul

    Daniel_Paul

    Messages:
    427
    Name:
    Daniel
    Edit My Images:
    No
    On the battery front I can vouch for the Topmax range on Amazon, I bought a load of these for my Canon G7x and they work perfectly!
     
  17. jonbeeza

    jonbeeza

    Messages:
    6,486
    Name:
    john
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Aww, this thread is dwindling a little. :(

    I too am guilty of not contributing a great deal..


    I did use the D3300 to do a few video clips this morning. I posted in the Video section, but maybe I should have posted it here instead. It probably would have been better of in this section, as nobody seems to reply over in the video forum.

    In movie settings, I turned manual movie setting to ON. I did not realise it was possible to alter so much, even the ISO is manually adjustable in movie mode. It is even possible to alter these settings while recording is in progress. Pretty happy with the video that came out of the camera.
     
    SsSsSsSsSnake likes this.
  18. Daniel_Paul

    Daniel_Paul

    Messages:
    427
    Name:
    Daniel
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2018
    dbay, biker, damianmkv and 3 others like this.
  19. jonbeeza

    jonbeeza

    Messages:
    6,486
    Name:
    john
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Just been trying some older lenses on my D3300, but this time with the Rangefinder mode enabled. Stuck on an old Tamron zoom, and also the Nikon 50mm 1.8 D. A bit of a faff, twiddling the focus ring. But I managed to nail the focus pretty good. Only thing is, it is sooooo slow. It would be pretty tricky for moving subjects. It was just something to do, for a few hours this afternoon.

    I have opted to stick the 35mm 1.8G on, and stuck the neck strap on. I am going to start carrying the camera around my neck, sod people if they look and stare. :)
     
    Daniel_Paul and SsSsSsSsSnake like this.
  20. mark.roper

    mark.roper

    Messages:
    213
    Name:
    Mark
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2018
    db247, dbay, SsSsSsSsSnake and 2 others like this.
  21. jonbeeza

    jonbeeza

    Messages:
    6,486
    Name:
    john
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Pain in the bum with the D3300, is no face detection while in normal shooting mode, only live view. Also no continuous self timer, have to re set after each shot. I think it is just three shots max, at self timer setting.
     
    SsSsSsSsSnake likes this.
  22. FishyFish

    FishyFish

    Messages:
    2,400
    Name:
    Nige
    Edit My Images:
    No
  23. SsSsSsSsSnake

    SsSsSsSsSnake

    Messages:
    9,006
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    something Fishy about this :D
     
    FishyFish likes this.
  24. FishyFish

    FishyFish

    Messages:
    2,400
    Name:
    Nige
    Edit My Images:
    No
    What are you trying to SsSsSsSsay? :D
     
    SsSsSsSsSnake likes this.
  25. damianmkv

    damianmkv Uh oh, a fruit basket!

    Messages:
    5,857
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    db247, SsSsSsSsSnake and Al1944 like this.
  26. SsSsSsSsSnake

    SsSsSsSsSnake

    Messages:
    9,006
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2018
  27. sparker

    sparker

    Messages:
    245
    Name:
    Simon
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    D3100, 1/2 second, f16, ISO100, 18-55mm DX VR set at 55m
    003 - Copy.JPG
     
    SsSsSsSsSnake likes this.
  28. SsSsSsSsSnake

    SsSsSsSsSnake

    Messages:
    9,006
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
  29. SsSsSsSsSnake

    SsSsSsSsSnake

    Messages:
    9,006
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
  30. SsSsSsSsSnake

    SsSsSsSsSnake

    Messages:
    9,006
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
  31. SsSsSsSsSnake

    SsSsSsSsSnake

    Messages:
    9,006
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
  32. SsSsSsSsSnake

    SsSsSsSsSnake

    Messages:
    9,006
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
  33. jonbeeza

    jonbeeza

    Messages:
    6,486
    Name:
    john
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    [​IMG]

    Just a quick snap with the D3300 and the 35mm 1.8G. I was tidying up, and moved the camera. So decided to fire off a quick photo, without looking at the last set settings. It had been left in Jpeg, and IS0 800.

    Not used the Nikon in ages, as my Canon compact is now my preferred choice.
     
    db247 and SsSsSsSsSnake like this.
  34. jonbeeza

    jonbeeza

    Messages:
    6,486
    Name:
    john
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    [​IMG]




    Dusted down the Nikon D3300 and 35mm 1.8G lens, so I could take a photo of my current fun camera above. Did not really need to dust my equipment down, I look after them pretty well. All boxed away safely, until next needed. :)
     
  35. Erty

    Erty

    Messages:
    68
    Name:
    Andrew
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Dancin' the Shag. (Collegiate Shag)
    Taken directly under a red spotlight so I made it black and white. The two dancers are lilting to the right of the picture to music at about 200bpm. June 18_10 4.jpg
     
    SsSsSsSsSnake likes this.
  36. Erty

    Erty

    Messages:
    68
    Name:
    Andrew
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
  37. Erty

    Erty

    Messages:
    68
    Name:
    Andrew
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    D3500 released and no one noticed. It looks like it has less buttons but they claim to have improved sensor performance again. Can't see a liveview button or function button (which will be a bit annoying). The 3300 or 3400 might be easier to use in manual.
     
    SsSsSsSsSnake likes this.
  38. SsSsSsSsSnake

    SsSsSsSsSnake

    Messages:
    9,006
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Well if they have improved the d3500 over the D3300/3400 it must be on par with the d7200 as those were only a tad if at all behind.
     
  39. Erty

    Erty

    Messages:
    68
    Name:
    Andrew
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Yes, the sensor is rather good- perhaps they have changed the processing which would explain the increased shot count. It is at the right price point, 500 dollars, and released in time for Christmas. Good move by Nikon. I doubt most users will go beyond the automatic and scene modes so they won't miss the extra buttons.
     
    SsSsSsSsSnake likes this.
  40. Dashing

    Dashing

    Messages:
    139
    Name:
    Richard
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Hi everyone,

    Been a long long time since I posted here. Hope you’re all keeping well and still representing the d3300... I know I am
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice