On TLA's, Beginners, and Turning Professional...

Name
Marc
Edit My Images
Yes
Too many three letter acronyms. Why can't people just say what they mean?

I see all this crap in beginner threads too... people firing acronyms at them. We're not in some stupid management meeting... just speak English.

Totally agree with this. I'm new to photography, all I've done in the last few months is read, watch, watch again and read some more. Books, forums, magazines, websites, YouTube (so much YouTube).

I'm a little embarrassed to admit I haven't even bought a camera yet, I want to learn more before I get it, I know once I get one I'll stop reading and studying and just try to take pictures. It probably sounds stupid, but I want to do this properly.

Frustratingly so many of the Inge I read online (this site is one of the best but it still happens a lot) the people asking the questions get put in their place with acronyms and told they are not good enough and shouldn't try to run before they can walk.

It's not right, butthere's nothing I can do about it. I tend not to ask too many questions as I can't be bothered with people being condescending to me, sure they know about photography and are excellent at wielding a camera, but that isn't a licence to talk down to others or show they know nothing. It's almost sneering sometimes.

The acronyms are the easiest way to do this without it being to blatant, I'm sure sometimes it's done without thinking, but I know it won't always be so easily laughed off.

I've chaired many meetings at all sorts of levels with rooms full of both people with knowledge and experience and people a little anxious about being there. Anytime someone used an acronym I'd always stop them and ask them to explain. Eventually they realised they were not getting away with it. It was lazy, say what you mean or don't say it. And if it wasn't being lazy it was being rude - they could decide which they were being.