Opinions on backgrounds please

As I always say, I am not an expert on this sort of photography. Both are very nice, but for me it has to be the #2 as it is not so bright (y)

Thanks. I just don't know what I prefer, he is actually the same exposure on both, just the background is edited differently. And I feel the ultra white washes him out a bit, but I like the bright background lol.

Thanks. I just don't know what I prefer, he is actually the same exposure on both, just the background is edited differently. And I feel the ultra white washes him out a bit, but I like the bright background lol.

It is a tricky one to pick as both are good imo, hope some one comes along and says :)

Image#2 is more natural, but without your frame the BG will look weird on a pure white background (like TP pages for example)
Which do you prefer? Where are you showing the final edit?

What's the final destination of the image - print & frame or just digital? If P&F then I'd probably stick to white, but digital then I'd choose the second image.

I guess the answer depends on if its from a technical or artistic perspective and like the answer to all artistic questions its personal choice and mine is no 2 .
If its a tecnical answer ive got no idea though im hoping one day to be more enlightened on this aspect of photography.

Number 2 for me, or merge both, darker at the top getting lighter at the bottom.
The child being lighter.
17918-1490275062-734c72c960add330a74a285e4cf73ee8.jpg

Rhodese.

I guess the answer depends on if its from a technical or artistic perspective and like the answer to all artistic questions its personal choice and mine is no 2 .
If its a tecnical answer ive got no idea though im hoping one day to be more enlightened on this aspect of photography.

Thanks, I asked on a group on Facebook, and 99% said darker. So I would assume this is more appealing whether it is technically correct or not lol