PC build for photoshop CS6 & Colour Calibration

Name
Mike
Edit My Images
No
I am building a new PC specifically for photo editing in Photoshop CS6 for my daughter and myself, I am an amateur photographer and my is talking photography in College.

I have a £1100 to £1200 budget for everything and I thought I had everything sorted out regarding what I had to buy, then I saw something regarding calibration when I was looking at the monitors.

The spec for the build is below

CM Storm Enforcer Case with Coolermaster 650W GX PSU £110
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-D3H Socket 1155 Motherboad £96
Intel Core i7 3770K 3.5GHz Socket 1155 £247
EVGA GTX 650 SuperClocked 1024MB GPU £92
Corsair 16GB DDR3 1600MHz Vengeance Performance RAM £61
OCZ 256GB Vertex 4 SSD - Solid State Drive £160
WD 2TB Green Desktop Drive £75
Arctic Silver 5 Silver Thermal Compound Thermal paste £6
TP-Link TL-WDN4800 Wireless-N450 PCIe Adapter £30
memory card external USB 3.0 £15
Microsoft Windows XP Professional SP3 from ebay £18.50
Windows 8 upgrade £25
Dell Ultrasharp U2412M 24 inch IPS Widescreen LED Monitor £210
TOTAL £1145.50

So as you can see I am pretty much at my budget, if I need a calibration kit which as far as I can see are nearly as much as the monitor.

I guess my question is and excuse my ignorance here, but why aren't the monitors already calibrated, and how do I do I calibrate my monitor on the cheap, as I don't want to have to buy a £120 monitor and then pay the same again for a calibration kit which I am likely to use for 5 mins.

Any help would be appreciated.

Last edited:
How about going AMD. Would save some money on the processor and the new 8 core Piledriver is a very good chip and very good in Photoshop.

AMD Piledriver FX-8 Eight Core 8350 Black Edition 4.00GHz £150