Perseids - heads up

Tringa

Numpty of the Day'
Name
Dave
Edit My Images
Yes
The peak of the Perseid meteor is due next Wednesday 12th night/ Thursday 13th morning. The moon is close to new then so that will help; just hope for clear skies.

Dave

will be hope to see them then fingers crossed

rain and thunder/lightning storms due Gloucestershire from 1am onwards :(

If you get an app (I use Star Tracker on android) then turn on your gps and point it at the sky it will tell you what stars you are looking at. You want to be looking North East though.

I am pointing the camera in that general direction, iso of 800 and an exposure of 30 seconds on my 18-55mm kit lens at 18mm. My Canon 750d has a continuous shot option so one press of a button and it will shoot 10 shots like this back to back. Hopefull will get something.....But I am no expert and happy to take any tips too!

Thats south and Perseids are north, so wont see it. Have seen a meteor already, but camera missed it.

just watched ISS pass though clouds are now coming over so not much chance of seeing any persied showers unless they clear within next hour.

About 12 in an hour here in Devon too. Seemed there must have been more judging by the flashes up in the clouds which were closing in gradually.
Not sure any went through the cameras field of view, but was well worth going out for the spectacle.

I may need a 14mm... :whistle:

The location was a bit poor tbh and there were LOADS of people up there. 1am and there must have been 200 people milling about. Crazy.

As for PP, erm, i just played with the sliders in Lr until i was happy with the resulting image. Well, happy ish.

I had a play in the back garden last night with the new samyang. Forgot how hard it is and how much light pollution there is here! Nothing worth keeping but useful practice. Amazon delivered a day early or else I could have planned it a bit better by finding some darkened field!!