Please for the Love of God Help me Choose a New Tripod!

Name
Stephen Hollingsworth
Edit My Images
Yes
First I'll apologise if this is a common question. I would have thought it was but a search of the forum suggests otherwise.

I feel like I'm lost in a sea of potential new tripods! There's way too much choice out there and with the nearest decent camera shop nearly 100 miles away I haven't had a chance to actually see and feel any of the available options so I'm drawing on the knowledge and experience of you guys and girls to help guide me.

I'm a photography newb having started only 3 months ago. My main interest is landscapes and I like walking long distances, usually up hills, to get to remote locations to shoot. My current tripod is a Velbon EF-61 which I originally bought to mount a large pair of binoculars for star gazing. While the legs feel quite robust to me the integrated plastic pan and tilt head is not and I'm pretty sure it will break sooner rather than later. When comparing it to the spec of other tripods it would seem the EF-61 is quite light weighing 1.5kg including the head. Despite this it is a noticeable weight to my already heavy backpack and I'd really like to find the lightest tripod/head combination I can without losing sturdiness.

I haven't decided on the head type I'll eventually go for but that's a topic for another thread. I have a couple of ball heads I can borrow to get me started so I plan to buy a tripod without a head to see how I get on with using a ball head (I quite like using the pan/tilt head I have if only it was stronger). Do all tripod heads have the same method of attachment to the tripod or could this be an issue?

If I list my desired features for a new tripod hopefully you guys can tell me if I'm being realistic and make some recommendations.

• Budget - £150 ish. This is assuming I have to buy a head to go with it.